[email protected] | +91 7207658536 (Timing to call - 11 am IST to 8 PM IST) |
Follow Us        

Western Vs Vedic - 3.

Third difference between Western Astrology and Vedic Astrology -

And finally, we come to the third and the biggest difference between Western and Vedic Astrology and that is Dasha System (Time Periods).

In Western Astrology, predictions are mainly based on yearly transits of planets, like right now Jupiter is in Leo and Saturn is in Sagittarius for Western Astrologers, so a western astrologer will look at how Jupiter behaves in Leo sign and how Saturn behaves in Sagittarius and predict the course of action for next year or even more as Saturn stays in one sign for about 2 and half years. Likewise, he will predict the course of future events by looking at other planets travelling through different signs. Additionally, they will look at various aspects of planets, which we are yet to discuss.

In Vedic Astrology however, besides all these things, we have Dasha System. There are various types (in total over 200 types) of Dasha System but most commonly used is Vimshottari Dasha, which is commonly known as Mahadasha or Antardasha. Other popular Dasha System includes Chara Dasha and Yogini Dasha. No matter which Dasha System you are using, you can predict the exact same event using any of them.

Vimshottari Dasha systems divides Dasha into 4 parts, i.e. Mahadasha, Antardasha, Pratyantar Dasha and Sookshma Dasha. Everyone of us (including animals) is running through a Mahadasha, Antardasha, Pratyantar Dasha and Sookshma Dasha at the same time.

So, here is how it works.

So, suppose a child takes birth right now. He will have his horoscope of this date and time as per the planets travelling in different signs. Right now at this moment (as I type this ), the Moon is in Pushya Nakshatra. Pushya Nakshatra's Lord is Saturn (please see the picture). So, this child will start his/her life with Saturn Mahadasha, which is normally a 19 years long Mahadasha. After Saturn Mahadasha completes, next Mahadasha in queue is Mercury Mahadasha, which is 17 years long. After that go back to the top of table, Ketu Mahadasha, which is 7 years long.

This is how Dasha system works. 

Vishal S Saxena – Astrologer

Follow Us

Leave a comment

0 Comments on this post

Subscribe to our email newsletter