[email protected] | +91 7207658536 (Timing to call - 11 am IST to 8 PM IST) |
Follow Us        

Western Vs Vedic - 2.

Second difference between Vedic Astrology and Western Astrology -

So, Western Astrology is mainly based on Houses of Horoscope, Zodiac Signs and Planets. They also take into consideration Degrees and current movement of planets for prediction, just like Vedic Astrology.

But the area where Vedic Astrology is few steps ahead is Nakshatra and Dasha System. We will cover Nakshatra in this post. Again, this is just the basic information about Nakshatra, this side of Astrology goes really deep in research and makes the most basic differences in predictions, which can't be covered in one post.

So, you might have felt many a times that I have Moon in Taurus and my brother also has Moon in Taurus, then why our minds (Moon) work so differently??? The reason might be many, from other planetary positions to aspects of planets on Moon (which we are yet to discuss), but one of the main reason is that your Moon might be in Rohini Nakshatra and your brother's Moon might be in Mrigshira Nakshatra.

In Vedic Astrology, every zodiac sign is further divided into 3 parts. This division is based on degrees and every part is given a particular Nakshatra name. So, to make it easy, Aries sign is 30* long. It is further divided into 3 parts. First Part is between 0* to 13*20', Second Part is between 13*20' to 26*40' and Third Part is between 26*40' to 30*. First part is called Ashwini Nakshatra. Second part is called Bharani Nakshatra. Third part is called Krittika Nakshatra. Similarly, all other zodiac signs is divided into Nakshatras. Like, Aries ends at Krittika Nakshatra, so next zodiac sign Taurus starts with Krittika and followed by Rohini and Mrigshira Nakshatra (based on degrees division). The division of Nakshatra among signs is as follows -

Aries - Ashwini , Bharani, Krittika.
Taurus - Krittika, Rohini, Mrigashira.
Gemini - Mrigashira, Ardra, Punarvasu.
Cancer - Punarvasu, Pushya, Ashlesha.
Leo - Magha, Purva-Phalguni, Uttara-Phalguni.
Virgo - Uttara-Phalguni, Hasta, Chitra.
Libra - Chitra, Swati, Vishakha.
Scorpio - Vishakha, Anuradha, Jyeshtha.
Sagittarius - Mula, Purva-Ashadha, Uttara-Ashadha.
Capricorn - Uttara-Ashadha, Shravana, Dhanishtha.
Aquarius - Dhanishtha, Shatabhisha, Purva-Bhadrapada.
Pisces - Purva-Bhadrapada, Uttara-Bhadrapada, Revati.

Just like we saw the meaning of every house, zodiac sign and planet, every nakshatra also has its detailed meaning. Every Nakshatra has a mythological story attached with it. In total there are 27 nakshatras. Mythologically speaking, these 27 nakshatras are actually 27 wives of Moon, Rohini being the most beautiful and most loved wife of Moon. Again, Moon travels through one zodiac sign in 2 days and 6 hours. So, in travelling through all 12 zodiac signs, it usually takes 27 days. So, it means Moon stays in one nakshatra for one day and moves on (another reason why our mind is so unstable?). We have 27 nakshatras and we have 9 planets. So, every planet rules over 3 nakshatras. This division is as follows -

Ashwini, Magha, Moola - Ruled by Ketu. 
Bharani, Purva-Phalguni, Purva-Ashadha - Ruled by Venus. 
Krittika, Uttara-Phalguni, Uttara-Ashadha - Ruled by Sun. 
Rohini, Hasta, Shravana - Ruled by Moon. 
Mrigashira, Chitra, Dhanishta - Ruled by Mars. 
Ardra, Swati, Shatabhisha - Ruled by Rahu. 
Punarvasu, Vishakha, Purva-Bhadrapad - Ruled by Jupiter. 
Pushyami, Anuradha, Uttara-Bhadrapad - Ruled by Saturn. 
Aslesha, Jyeshta, Revati - Ruled by Mercury. 

I know, this is not much information about Nakshatra, considering the importance and depth they hold in astrology, but it is enough to understand the next post tomorrow on Dasha System. We will certainly deal with Nakshatra in detail in near future. 

Vishal S Saxena – Astrologer

Follow Us

Leave a comment

0 Comments on this post

Subscribe to our email newsletter